Year 2009

I have used the counselling service for one and a half years now. I approached the Hong Kong Federation of Women’s Centres for this service because I had no place to live and was in financial difficulties. I had looked for many places for assistance but all in vain. My friends introduced to me the HKFWC. The staff there listened to my stories and alleviated my worries. I felt the warmth and the care. They provided me with timely and appropriate services so that I do not feel lonely and helpless. In the HKFWC, I have the support, encouragement and a sense of belonging.

Counselling service user / Ms Chu

Time flies and I have been a Community Mums for some time. The most memorable moment was the days as a Community Tour Guide. As I provided guided tours, I also recalled the good old days when I was a child. Tai Po has undergone great changes: Tolo Harbour is becoming smaller and smaller, and the typhoon shelter outside Kwong Fuk Estate has disappeared. It is heart-rending to think about all these changes. Being a Community Tour Guide allows me pass these stories to the next generation and do something for the environment.

Community Mum / Yun-chu

I have been a Reception Ambassador and Volunteer Tutor for nine years and I have learned a lot!

My work experience allows me to handle the work as a Reception Ambassador with ease. But I am quite stressed as a Volunteer Tutor. Those who attended the yoga class came with an expectation. I enjoy much satisfaction if the health of the women attended the class has improved and if become closer friends.

Thank you, the Hong Kong Federation of Women’s Centre, for your encouragement and giving me chances to show my talent!

Volunteer Tutor / Mei-lin

It has been eight years since I first joined the Committee of the Retraining Course Alumni Association. Over the years, I changed from someone who knew very little about the work of the Association to an active participant of it. I took part in press conferences, designing the notice board of the Association, exhibitions, etc. I am grateful to all the Committee members who gave me lots of encouragement. I am also grateful to the staff members of the Hong Kong Federation of Women’s Centres who gave me chances to explore and try out my ideas. This approach allowed members of the Committee to become more confident, as well as to be.more responsible for their work. I hope that many more retraining course graduates will join the Committee and take it to a higher level.

Committee Member of the Retraining Course Alumni Association / Wai-hing

By chance, I saw the promotion of a sexual education class. I’m interested in it, particularly because there are very few classes like this, and I therefore enrolled in the class and later became a Peer Health Ambassador.

I was not active in the beginning. As I had more free time, I became more active in the activities of the group. I learned the skills to collaborate with other group members, be more tolerant, gain satisfaction through participation and be ready to adjust to any changing circumstance. In addition, I became more courageous as I needed to promote sexual health. I think that being a Peer Health Ambassador is a rare opportunity and an unexpected and rewarding experience.

Peer Health Ambassador / Yim-ling

2009年

使用中心的個案輔導服務已有年半,當初使用服務是因為沒有地方居住及遇到經濟困難。我曾到處尋找幫助但都踫壁,內心充滿無助和不安。經朋友介紹,來到婦女中心,姑娘耐心的聆聽及講解,使我的焦慮漸見輕省,她們主動的關心和問候,更令我感到窩心。而且,她們迅速地轉介適切的服務給我,使我不再感到寂寞,不用再為問題憂心。在婦女中心,我感覺到的是支持和鼓勵,還有一份歸屬感。

輔導服務使用者——朱小姐

不經不覺,參加社區媽媽都有一段日子。讓我印象最深刻的是擔任社區導賞員,一邊帶導賞,一邊令我回想起童年的生活,尋回開心的時光。但現在大埔的變遷很大,吐露港變得越來越細,廣福邨對出海面的避風塘亦已消失,回想起都有點令人唏噓。雖然如此,但我仍然會參加導賞團,讓下一代知道這些故事,希望可以為保育環境多做一點事。

社區媽媽——潤珠

參加接待大使義工小組和擔任義務導師已有9個年頭,感受是獲益良多。

藉著過往的工作經驗,在接待大使的工作崗位上並沒有太大困難。而作為義務導師,則感到有壓力。因前來中心學習瑜珈的婦女對導師都有要求,但看到她們學習瑜珈後健康有改善,而且大家的關係變得更密切,我便感覺到很有成功感。

在此感謝中心的鼓勵和推動,讓我可以發揮所長。

義務導師——美蓮

加入同學會委員會工作已近八個年頭。從不熟悉會務到積極參與不同活動,如記者招待會、壁報、街展等,多謝成員間的相互扶持和鼓勵,更感激中心職員給予寛廣的自由度,讓各人對會務多一分承擔和自信,無形中增添了我們的使命感。願來年會有更多同學加入委員會工作,使會務能繼往開來,蒸蒸日上!

再培訓課程畢業同學會委員——惠卿

在偶然之下,看見中心開辦一個認識性知識的課堂。我對此很感興趣,加上在外面很少有這類課堂,於是便報讀了,並加入成為朋輩健康大使。

初時我參與小組活動不多,後來時間許可,便多參與小組活動。過程中,我學到怎樣和組員合作,互相包容,投入參與及隨機應變。此外,透過對外推廣性健康活動,我變得更有膽量和勇氣。對我來說,參加朋輩健康大使是一個難得的機會,是意外收穫。

朋輩健康大使——方艷玲