Cherish Food

Uneven distribution of resources and waste are a leading cause of poverty. We launched the Cherish Food programme in November 2011 with a core belief that women are able to become a strong force for the sharing of resources in the community by building their skills and wisdom. In doing so, they can help relieve the burden that uneven distribution of resources and waste places on their communities. We have been delighted to receive funding from the Environment and Conservation Fund in March 2021 to continue the project of food collection and distribution. With this support, we are able to expand our services and contribute to produce collection, the local economy, and communal gatherings.

BackEnquiry

Cherish Food Network

We will regularly train the volunteers to become "Cherish Food Ambassador" and will collect fruits, vegetables and bread in wet markets on weekdays. We will also organise Cherish Food Tours for the organisations and corporate to experience the services and promote the food save culture.At the same time, they will organize community lobbying team to donate leftover food, or offer discounts.

 

Food Collection in Wet Market

Food Collection is an important part of our culture of promoting food upcycling. We will collect the remaining fruits, vegetables and bread at Sham Shui Po wet markets (Pei Ho Street and Po On Road) on weekdays. We will also look for more businesses to support us, including discounts and food donations.
* There are already over 90 stall vendors involved in donating leftover food for grass-roots families
* We also collect dried foods such as cookies, canned food and white rice

 

Cherish Food Guided Tour

Food waste issue is serious in Hong Kong. In order to let people too much understand the situation of food waste in Hong Kong, we offer Cherish Food Guided Tour for the participants to experience the food recycling and promote a sustainable lifestyle.

 

Content

  • To understand the project aims
  • To experience the food recycling work in the wet market
  • To filter the food that collected
  • To distribute to the service users

 

Time: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Max to serve 9 participants in one tour

Fee

Charity Organisation and school: HK$1,500

Corporate: HK$3,000

 

We will offer a briefing session to the participants in order to reflect the food waste issue in Hong Kong.

 

We are welcome schools, organisations, and corporates to join our guided tour.

Please contact our Fundraising Department at 2386 6256 or email to fundraising@womencentre.org.hk, if you have any interest.

 

 

Events & Programmes

women market

Women Entrepreneurship : Christmas Handmade Product Market

Over studying a year, our women students from the entrepreneurship course of Cherish Food Programme are ready to share their products! "Women Entrepreneurship: Christmas Handmade Product Market' will be organized at 21 and 22 December 2019 (Sat & Sun), from 1 pm to 9 pm under Mei Foo footbridge...

71276135_2455689607830446_5829917555946422272_n

Women Market 2019

"Women's Market" - Women outside the kitchen | Entrepreneurship Women | Handmade Food Market was held in Mei Foo on 21 September. The women's products were very popular on that day! Thank you for supporting women's entrepreneurship with action, as well as giving them motivation and confidence. We...

IMG_0072

Women's Market 2018

Please refer to Chinese version

好惜食

好惜食計劃由香港婦女中心協會於2011年11月啟動,並於2021年3月始獲環境及自然保育基金資助,延續在深水埗區的食物回收工作。資源浪費及分配不均是貧窮的成因之一,我們相信透過生活智慧及技能,婦女能建立出資源共享及強韌社區力量,從而舒緩資源浪費及分配不均所帶來的經濟負擔。

返回立即查詢

惜食網絡

定期培訓義工成為「惜食大使」,並會於平日到街市及商舖回收賣街剩的蔬果及麵包;亦會為不同團體舉辦惜食導賞團,推廣惜食文化;同時組織社區遊說隊,遊說檔販及商戶支持我們,捐贈剩食或提供優惠。

 

街市食物回收

食物回收是我們一直推動惜食文化的重要一環,我們會於平日到深水埗區街市(北河街及保安道)及商舖回收賣剩的蔬果及麵包,也一同物色更多商戶支持本計劃,包括折扣優惠及食物捐贈等。

*目前已經有超過90個檔販參與捐贈剩食予基層家庭

*我們亦會回收乾貨食品,如:餅乾、罐頭及白米等

 

惜食導賞團

為了讓社區人士更了解香港的食物浪費、供求問題及可行出路,我們設導賞團讓社區人士能親身體驗食物回收工作,推動惜食文化。

內容

  • 了解好惜食計劃理念及回收運作
  • 親身體驗街市回收食物
  • 篩選及分類回收而來的剩食
  • 分發給區內街坊

 

導賞時間:5:30PM - 9:00PM

每團最多可接待九人

每團收費:

非牟利團體及學校 港幣1,500元正

企業 港幣3,000元正

 

我們歡迎學校、團體、企業報名參與,共同了解香港的現況。

歡迎致電 2386 6256 或電郵至 fundraising@womencentre.org.hk 我們的籌募部預約。

活動花絮

women market

創業女人|聖誕手作產品市集

經過一年努力,好惜食計劃創業課程的婦女學員們終於展示成果!「創業女人丨聖誕手作產品市集」於12月21及22日(星期六和日),下午1時點至晚上9點在美孚天橋底(萬事達廣場對出)舉行,當日有20檔獨一無二的手作產品,及...

71276135_2455689607830446_5829917555946422272_n

美孚女人墟

「女人墟」 - 廚房以外的女人|創業女人|手作食品市集於9月21日,在美孚舉行。當日創業班的姐妹貨品非常受歡迎!感謝大家以行動支持婦女創業,讓她們得到動力和信心。希望下次再有機會,讓更多人品嚐到婦女的精緻手...

Mid-Autumn Festival Celebration

麗蘭食街|邀你賞月:中秋市集

繼「夏日熱辣辣、好熱好熱」之後「好惜食」繼續同大家引發社區想像,我們與麗閣商場的新管理公司 - 「民坊」(基滙資本)合作於9月15日在麗閣邨街市舉辦麗蘭食街第三炮之「邀你賞月:中秋市集」,與街坊一起賞賞月、...